top of page

Celebrating Motherhood: A Salute to My Mom


There have been many women in my life, family and friends, who have inspired, motivated or taught me a thing or two about motherhood. I entered this crazy journey without a single clue of what to do or how I was going to navigate my life as a parent. But with these wonderful fellow mothers in my life I have somehow found my way, or at least have felt less lost, because every day these wonderful women empower me, sometimes directly, but often just by being themselves. Witnessing their motherhood journey gives me strength when I have weak moments; fills me with hope when I feel hopeless. These are women who I can share ideas with, receive tips from and commiserate with.

In honour of Mother’s Day I want to salute these wonderful women -- relatives and friends, acquaintances and colleagues -- and say that I think you are all amazing moms! And in case you don’t hear it often enough, thank you for all that you do, not just for your children but for your sisters in motherhood.

For the month of May I will celebrate a few lovely ladies as part of a celebrating motherhood series that I hope to continue every year on Mama @ Heart. I will start this series with the source of inspiration for it -- my mom.

As children we always need our moms, even if we don’t think we do. But I can honestly say that it has been since becoming a mother myself that I have needed my own mom the most. She has been a source of comfort for me right from the beginning of my motherhood journey. She has been there to assist me, reassure me and cheer me on. There have been many times that I have felt unsure about what to do as a parent and I have asked myself “what would Mom do?”

My mother has taught me all of the most important things that comes with motherhood: how to be patient, knowing when to pick your battles, learning how to prioritize, the importance of family time and that the love a mother has for her child is bigger than one could ever imagine.

I have always looked up to my mom, and with every passing year I appreciate her more and more. Thank you for being the amazing woman that you are, and for being my first source of wisdom, inspiration and motivation in motherhood. I love you! Happy Mother’s Day!

Me, my son and my mom on my first Mother's Day five years ago.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page