top of page

Book Review: The Girl Who Saved Christmas


They say you should never judge a book by its cover, but this is one instance that I am making an exception to that rule. When I first held The Girl Who Saved Christmas in my hands I immediately felt the book had the makings of a classic. The velvet cover is crimson red and has gold lettering, which adds a nice touch and really gives the book a Christmas feel. I immediately wanted to curl up with it and read it to my kids. And so I did.

The beautifully illustrated book has a similar rhyming scheme to the classic ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas, but this tale by William Thomas Thach tells the story of a sweet girl named Molly. The sad and lonely girl confides to her pet mouse, Mr. Nibbles, how her Christmas wish is for her peers to see her as “the true and dependable friend” that she is.

Meanwhile in the North Pole, one of Santa’s elves is the bearer of bad news. It appears that Santa has a long “naughty” list this year. Santa angrily sets off on his sleigh but with lumps of coal, rather than presents, for the children. A harsh blizzard, matching Santa’s mood, blew in the night that Christmas Eve. With chimneys boarded up he had nowhere to go, until Santa spies one that’s been left open…the house of Molly McAme.

What transpires from there? Well, you will have to read for yourself. But I will tell you this. Little Molly is a girl full of compassion and she pleads with Santa to be gentle, kind and forgiving. Molly gives readers a subtle reminder of what Christmas is about. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book to my kids!

As for my son and daughter, they loved the story and have asked to hear it repeatedly! We already have a small collection of holiday-themed books that we bring out to read every year and after reading The Girl Who Saved Christmas the first time my son immediately placed it on the shelf with the others. I think our family will be enjoying this story for years to come.

Click here to watch a video version of The Girl Who Saved Christmas

This book was provided by the author. All views and opinions are my own.

The Girl Who Saved Christmas is available for purchase here

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page