top of page

The Power of P!nk

Do you have a favourite band or musician that you simply love listening to? One that inspires you, evokes emotion in you, or perhaps you just love rockin’ out to their songs? For me, that artist is Pink.

In a matter of days, I will be fulfilling a dream I’ve had for a long time of seeing her perform in concert. I have been a fan of hers from the beginning of her career with her first album, Can’t Take Me Home. I immediately loved Pink’s sound; it was different, fun and edgy. I admire her no-nonsense attitude, the fact that she covers timely subject matter in her songs (namely Dear Mr. President. Funny how much that still applies today). Another reason why I love Pink as an artist is an eclectic mix she adds to her albums, including songs from soulful to sarcastic, and tunes that just make you want to dance. Her music reaches such a large audience because it speaks to people on so many levels.

Last year, I found myself facing depression and anxiety and music became one of many sources of therapy for me. For me, listening to Pink’s songs is like an instant pick-me-up. They immediately put a smile on my face and I can't help but want to sing along. Whenever I’m alone in my car and want some tunes to just belt out (you know, in that sing-like-nobody's-watching kinda way), my playlist of Pink’s songs is the first one I go to.

Through this difficult point in my life there’s one song that has resonated deeply with me; one song that has become like a mantra I need to repeat when I’m having a particularly hard day. And the song is Fuckin' Perfect.

"You're so mean when you talk about yourself; you are wrong. Change the voices in your head; make them like you instead."

This line is what has stuck with me the most. This line has saved me many times. It has been the reminder that I need to stop beating myself up for struggling with depression. This is the song that reminds me that I am still a good wife and mother despite my struggle.

Pink, I can’t thank you enough for writing this song. It is a beautiful message to people everywhere that there is no one way to be perfect; that even when we make mistakes or at times when we are struggling, we are perfect just as we are.

Thank you for making songs that has helped this mom through a tough time in her life. Music truly can be therapeutic, and yours certainly has been for me.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page