top of page

Life Balance: The Value of "Me" Time

Do you ever feel like you’re being pulled in so many directions that you just don’t know where to turn next? This has been a struggle in my life since becoming a mother. It seems the “to do” list is endless and there are many people who need or want my attention – my kids, my husband, family, friends, career, house work – it can be difficult to find some time to focus on all of these in one day! How do I do it?

Since going back to work in 2012 after having my son, I have been finding it difficult to have balance in my life. Maintaining a home life, work life and social life at times feels overwhelming. I started to read about work-life balance, and you can find many articles, studies or lists on how to achieve better work-life balance. Don’t get me wrong, they all have very good suggestions and tips (I’ve tried some) but I’ve come to realize that it’s all just bullshit unless you do one thing first – take care of you!

Let’s face it, as mothers we are often seen as the glue that holds it all together. But how can we maintain healthy relationships with our kids, spouses, family and friends if we aren’t taking care of ourselves? How can we thrive in the workplace if we aren’t healthy physically, mentally and emotionally?

And so I’ve put all those work-life balance lists and tips aside and decided to make time to focus on me. It’s a work in progress, as I can often find myself feeling guilty or selfish for taking “me” time. But I look at it this way…being a happier, healthier self will ultimately help me to become a better mother, wife, daughter, sister, friend and employee.

My journey to becoming happier and healthier has involved different things over the years – yoga, pilates, meditation, massage therapy, walking, reading, acupuncture and now this blog. It’s an ongoing process that I’m sure will find me going back to some of the things I’ve tried and possibly trying new things.

I’m not saying that having “me” time will solve my life balance struggle completely, but I am finding that it helps me to be more focused. I am slowly feeling less lost or stressed about tackling day-to-day life and more able to prioritize and get organized. And believe me, my house needs a lot of organizing! But that’s a whole other story!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page