top of page

Celebrate the Love of Your Family This Valentine's Day


Ah, Valentine’s Day. Commonly known to be a holiday to celebrate romantic love. Quite honestly, I’ve never been a fan of this day of cupids, hearts and over-priced flowers and jewelry. It’s all too commercialized and filled with high expectations. I have always felt that we should express our feelings to the one we love any day of the year. Thankfully, I married a man who feels the same way about Valentine’s Day so it’s always been a day just like any other for us.

However, now that I’m a mother of school-aged children, I find myself viewing Valentine’s Day a little differently. At daycare and school my son and daughter have made me and my husband sweet little cards, pictures and crafts, and it warms my heart to see how excited and proud they are of these genuine expressions of love they have created. It has raised some questions in my mind: why must Valentine’s Day only be for romantic love? Why not acknowledge the love of family on this day as well? After all, if it weren’t for the love my husband and I share we wouldn’t have our little family. And it is the love of my family that fills my heart more and more each day. In the words of Maya Angelou, “I sustain myself with the love of family.”

I would much prefer to make Valentine’s Day a family celebration, although my original belief of expressing love any day of the year remains. I don’t need just one special day to show my son, daughter and husband just how much I love them. But with the age my kids are at right now, taking the time to do something special as a family is worth it. They get so excited when we plan fun family time and I just love seeing their faces light up with pure joy. Here’s what I think would be the perfect family-friendly way to mark Valentine’s Day:

Food

Make the most of the love theme and have some heart-shaped food. You can achieve this with any meal of the day: pancakes for breakfast, sandwiches at lunch or pizza for dinner. Add a sweet treat to the mix and bake some heart-shaped cookies. Gather the family in the kitchen and enjoy the cooking and baking experience together.

Arts & Crafts

Why not get creative together and make some arts and crafts to decorate around the house? I saw this super easy hole-punch hearts that I would like to do with my son and daughter. I like the simplicity of it since my kids are only 4 and 6 years old, plus these hearts would be fun to hang in the windows or from the ceiling. You could even use them to make streamers or to decorate on homemade cards. These rainbow heart suncatchers would also add a beautiful splash of colour around the home. And if you’re looking for something toddler-friendly, this sweet little handprint bouquet could be the perfect artwork to hang on your wall.

Love Stories

Curl up on the couch together and watch a movie. There are many kid-appropriate, love-themed movies you can watch, from classic Disney to classic literary tales. You can find some great ideas in this list of 25 family-friendly movies to watch for Valentine’s Day.

Before the day is through, spend some time snuggled with your children and read a story or two. It would be the perfect way to end off a loving day together and ensure some sweet dreams. If you need some inspiration for some great kids Valentine books, check out this list suitable for little ones and this list includes titles for up to teen years.

I hope you and your family have a fun-filled Valentine’s Day, and that you are inspired to enjoy some of these love-themed activities throughout the year.

Share the love! Do you and your children already have some Valentine’s Day traditions or activities that you enjoy together? Comment below! I would love to hear from you!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page